Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Details Ranked Play Tiers

Infinity Ward and Treyarch revealed new details regarding the long-awaited Ranked Play system and tiers for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2. Previously confirmed in November 2022, Ranked Play will incentivize dedicated Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 players for competing online with other skilled individuals among the player base.

Following the reveal of Ranked Play for Modern Warfare 2 late last year, dataminers uncovered more details about the 4v4 tier-based competitive mode. For example, dataminers found Modern Warfare 2's Ranked Play rule set, which follows the same rules in Activision Blizzard's official Call of Duty League. Restrictions, maps, and modes from Call of Duty League will be enforced for Ranked Play in Modern Warfare 2. Ranked Play is presented by Treyarch with the Call of Duty League, and Infinity Ward revealed new details about tiers ahead of the competitive system's arrival in Modern Warfare 2 Season 2.

Infinity Ward published a lengthy Modern Warfare 2 blog post detailing Ranked Play tiers and what players should expect when Season 2 launches. Once Modern Warfare 2 Season 2 launches, every player will start out in the Bronze Skill Division, which falls in the 0 to 899 Skill Rating range. Skill Rating is determined on the results of Ranked Play matches with wins and losses granting and subtracting SR points respectively. Moreover, individual performance impacts the amount of SR points that may be earned or lost from a given match. Ranked Play match performance and results are key toward advancing toward the prestigious top 250 tier.

Bronze – 0-899 SR
Silver – 900-2,099 SR
Gold – 2,100-3,599 SR
Platinum – 3,600-5,399 SR
Diamond – 5,400-7,499 SR
Crimson – 7,500-9,999 SR
Iridescent – 10,000 SR minimum
Top 250 – 10,000+ SR

Skilled Modern Warfare 2 players must advance from the Bronze Skill Division to the Iridescent Skill Division in order to qualify for the top 250 tier. To reach the Iridescent Skill Division, Modern Warfare 2 players must reach a minimum of 10,000 SR. Further, each Skill Division below Iridescent has its three tiers to progress through before reaching the next Skill Division. For instance, a Silver ranked player must progress through three tiers and obtain a 2,100 Skill Rating to earn the Gold Rank.

Players must consider their Skill Division when playing with friends or grouping up with other competitive players in Modern Warfare 2's new Ranked Play system, however. Bronze through Platinum ranked players may party up without restrictions in Ranked Play. Diamond and Crimson players may only party up with others within two Skill Divisions, whereas Iridescent players and the top 250 must party up with other players within one Skill Division.

The Ranked Play system may ultimately succeed or fail based on its fairness and matchmaking system. In casual modes, Modern Warfare 2's use of skill-based matchmaking may be a hindrance to players just wanting to have a fun time with friends. In Ranked Play, skill-based matchmaking may promote fairness among highly ranked players if the network connections involved are also stable as intended.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is available now for PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S.

Related Forum: Call of Duty Forum



"Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Details Ranked Play Tiers" :: Login/Create an Account :: 4 comments

If you would like to post a comment please signin to your account or register for an account.


Runts Man we got rebirth now all we need is og mw2 maps on the game man cmon.

Yeah... they pretty much just sold a crappy new game using an old successful name. :p


they took so long for this to happen smh


Man we got rebirth now all we need is og mw2 maps on the game man cmon.


Crimson and Iridescent seem so random in that list...

Gaming Headlines