Call of Duty cheaters are having their weapons taken away from them

3.7
Activision has revealed a new measure it’s using to deter cheaters in Call of Duty: Vanguard and Warzone.

‘Disarm’ is a cheating mitigation technique that removes a user’s ability to inflict damage.

“Like the name implies, when cheaters are detected, we simply take their weapons away from them (including their fists),” Activision said in a blog post.

A previously revealed mitigation technique, Damage Shield, can disable players’ ability to inflict critical damage on others if the server detects them tampering with the game in real-time.

Another, called Cloaking, not only makes regular players invisible to cheaters, but also makes bullets and sounds from legitimate players undetectable.

“The aim for mitigations is to keep cheaters in game to analyze their data while reducing their ability to impact a legitimate player’s experience,” Activision said.

Data collected by the publisher shows that as mitigations are active, it see a reduction in cheater reports – “either because players are swept up in ban waves or their bad behavior isn’t getting in the way of your legitimate fun (because we’re interrupting their nefarious ways)”


Of course, the biggest deterrent to cheating remains bans, which are issued daily, and often in large waves.

Since its previous update in late April, Activision said it has issued over 180,000 new bans across Warzone and Vanguard.



Activision recently revealed the Call of Duty Vanguard and Warzone Season 4 content roadmap ahead of next week’s launch.

Season 4, which is titled Mercenaries of Fortune, will be live in both games on June 22, following a Vanguard update on June 21 at 9am PT / 12pm ET / 5pm BST / 6pm CEST and a Warzone update 24 hours later.

Headlining Warzone’s update is a new Resurgence battle royale map called Fortune’s Keep.



Posted:
Related Forum: Call of Duty Forum

Source: https://www.videogameschronicle.com/news/call-of-duty-cheaters-are-having-their-weapons-taken-away-from-them/

Comments

"Call of Duty cheaters are having their weapons taken away from them" :: Login/Create an Account :: 5 comments

If you would like to post a comment please signin to your account or register for an account.

CalicoReidsoPosted:

Just leave them with their hands and feet to use

DosisPosted:

lol , so stupid theyll never stop hackers no matter how hard they try

RareparrotPosted:

I like this but if i get shot at im still hiding

UrfPosted:

Mark So banning isn't an option anymore?


Did you even read it? It literally says "Of course, the biggest deterrent to cheating remains bans, which are issued daily, and often in large waves."

MarkPosted:

So banning isn't an option anymore?


Gaming Headlines