Nintendo Switch has ‘topped 20 million sales’ in Japan

4.2
Nintendo Switch sales have reportedly exceeded 20 million units in Japan.

According to data published by Famitsu, Switch reached the sales milestone on June 2, approximately four years and three months (222 weeks) after its launch on March 3, 2017.

20,018,278 Switch units have been sold in Japan to be exact, the publication reports – 16,168,420 million units of the launch console and 3,849,858 Switch Lite consoles.

Famitsu also published a list of Japan’s five best-selling Switch games:

Animal Crossing: New Horizons (6,778,146)
Super Smash Bros. Ultimate (4,285,272)
Pokémon Sword and Shield (4,052,668)
Splatoon 2 (3,868,221)
Mario Kart 8 Deluxe (3,844,200)


According to a Resetera user, Switch is only the fifth gaming platform to reach 20 million sales in Japan:

Nintendo DS – 32,990,000
Nintendo Gameboy + Color – 32,470,000
Nintendo 3DS – 25,260,000
PlayStation 2 – 21,454,325
Nintendo Switch – 20,018,278


DS reportedly took two years and 50 weeks to hit 20 million sales, Gameboy took approximately nine years, 3DS took four years and 45 weeks, and PS2 took six years and 49 weeks.

Lifetime Switch shipments stood at 84.59 million units, with over 81 million sold through to consumers, as of March 31, 2021, according to Nintendo.

The company announced on Wednesday that its E3 2021 Nintendo Direct will take place on Tuesday, June 15.

The 40-minute live stream will start at 9am PT / 12pm ET / 5pm BST / 6pm CEST and focus on Switch software “mostly” releasing this year, the company said.

According to a Bloomberg report published last week, Nintendo is planning to announce new Switch hardware ahead of E3, which takes place from June 12-15, enabling developers to showcase games for the system at the event.



Posted:
Related Forum: Gaming Discussion

Source: https://www.videogameschronicle.com/news/nintendo-switch-has-topped-20-million-sales-in-japan/

Comments

"Nintendo Switch has ‘topped 20 million sales’ in Japan" :: Login/Create an Account :: 0 comments

If you would like to post a comment please signin to your account or register for an account.

Gaming Headlines