Gaming NewsFinal Sea Of Thieves Open Beta Live For All On Xbox One & PCPosted:

Brigand
  • E3 2018
Status: Offline
Joined: Apr 07, 20135 Year Member
Posts: 3,998
Reputation Power: 1226
Sea of Thieves developer Rare has announced another beta for its upcoming multiplayer pirate game. This beta will be the final one before the game's release date in a few weeks and is open to everyone on Xbox One and PC. It's live now and runs until March 11 at 2 AM PT / 5 AM ET / 10 AM GMT / 9 PM AEST.

During a developer update about the final beta, executive producer Joe Neate explained that the studio wants to have a greater number of players trying the game out than before, and in order to do so it has opened up the trial to everyone. Additionally, a number of new features have been included in the new beta.



The first of them is the Merchant Alliance, which is a faction that tasks players with capturing animals in exchange for rewards. Another new feature being tested in the beta is Skeleton Forts, which creates the opportunity for forts in the world to be occupied by skeletons. These special forts offer greater rewards for those who clear them out, but they're signified by large clouds hovering above them that are visible to all players. Naturally, this means you may have to battle other players as well as skeletons for riches.

Neate emphasised that there could be issues with the beta as the studio is testing the game and its features, and inviting a much larger amount of people to put the game's servers through its paces. If problems do arise, Rare says it may put temporary blocks on new players coming in to even out the experience. The services team will also be working on-the-fly to resolve any other issues that come up.

The Sea of Thieves release date is March 20. It will be one of the first big tests of Microsoft's ambitious Game Pass expansion, which gives subscribers access to a suite of games including all first-party titles on day-and-date of release. While you're waiting to explore the briny deep, check out 10 reasons we're excited and why we think it has such potential.

[ Register or Signin to view external links. ]

The Following 1 User Say's Thank You to Brigand For This Useful Post:

Mooneye (03-09-2018)
#2. Posted:
Maze
  • Gold Member
Status: Online
Joined: Nov 24, 20116 Year Member
Posts: 6,249
Reputation Power: 1179
Motto: All Time High Monthly Posts achieved in June 2018. jukly forever.
Well if it's free I guess I'm gonna download this and finally check it out

I honestly don't think I'll like it but hey ya never know.
#3. Posted:
Mooneye
  • Download Master
Status: Offline
Joined: Jul 09, 20144 Year Member
Posts: 3,212
Reputation Power: 825
This game will be huge.

Im happy they are dropping beta test.

Pumped for this game.
Users browsing this topic: None
Jump to:


RECENT POSTS

HOT TOPICS